FoxyRoxyLinux - About Copyrights and Respecting them

An overview of FoxyRoxyLinux

FoxyRoxyLinux - About Copyrights and Respecting them

Postby jbv » Sun Aug 12, 2012 9:40 am

This may or may not be legal in your part of the world.
This may or may not be legal in my part of the world.
I am not a lawyer, nor do I want or intend to hire one to find out.

The basic ground-rules and intent regarding copyright is as follows:

No single person owns FoxyRoxy, the name or anything associated with what is being called FoxyRoxy. The term or name is that widespread and generic that any claim of ownership would be just plain wrong or an exercise in futility. Previous first hand experience with copyright and trademark laws in my part of the world specifically prohibit the copyrighting or trademarking of common words or the combination of common words as is the case with the combination of the words Foxy and Roxy to make the word FoxyRoxy. Therefore if I can not trademark and/or copyright them here, then neither can anyone else, therefore it should stand to reason that any other claim to copyright or trademark would not be valid here. If you do think that you own the global use of the words then please send me a polite Email, with proof of your claim. If your claim has merit, then I am more than happy to discuss this with you.